>Good at everything, great at nothing

>

I have a lot of interests. I think that I’m mediocre at most of them. In fact, it’s kind of a relief when I am markedly bad at something. This sounds cocky and pretentious, but if I’m good at something, I feel that I should pursue it. Like writing. Like singing. Those are the two things in which I feel like I should pursue something. 

When I was a kid, I was highly praised for my singing abilities. Singing was a part of my personality in a way that my name was almost synonymous with singing. I got older. From lack of encouragement and listening to loads of people telling me to pursue something “stable,” I kind of left music behind. 
Then there’s writing. I’ve a sneaking suspicion that I’m not the great writer that I think I am. I majored in English, and maintained good grades, but I don’t know that my writing ever had that true gleam of greatness that my contemporaries possessed. Still, I stuck with it, and I now write (albeit pretty unglamourous stuff) for a living these days, and have for the past 4 years. 
I’m not meaning to whine, just feeling this ennui about turning 35 and having nothing to show for it, career-wise. I _do_ have an okay job, and make a good living, and back when I lived on the more prosperous side of the country, I had a great job. 
I guess this was brought on by hearing of the success of a friend, and having that “I could have done that too” feeling. If only, if only, if only… I’m also fighting through some major writer’s block. 
This entry was posted in random. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

